Schneider Peacemaker Award

Thomas Schneider, December 6, 1942 – December 8, 2011

The award is presented annually to a graduating high school senior in the mid-Michigan area in memory of Tom Schneider, a local activist and Bath Township Supervisor, who touched every life he encountered, in our community and around the world. Tom was involved with the Abrahamic Community, Haven House, Peace Education Center, Bath Township Recycling Group, WKAR Radio Talking Book, Great Lakes Folk Festival, Habitat for Humanity, Looking Glass Community Services, Saint John’s Student Parish, and many other volunteer efforts throughout mid-Michigan. He died in the prime of his life on December 8, 2011.

The award honors the memory of Tom Schneider, who gave so much of himself to make our community and our world a more peaceful one. Like Tom, who served the Peace Education Center  (PEC) as a board member and volunteer extraordinaire, the PEC believes that our young peacemakers deserve to be recognized for their contributions toward a better world for all. We are honored to support this award in Tom’s name. Click the link below for a 2023 pdf of the application:

2023 Tom Schneider Award Application

Criteria of those who can apply :

  • Graduate from a high school program in the mid-Michigan area in the spring of 2023.

  • Describe how the nominee has led and/or advocated for social justice and peace issues – at school, in the community and beyond – and outline their plans to continue their active efforts toward peace and justice in their future endeavors.

  • Describe to the Award Committee how the award made an impact on the award winner and/or the community, within a year after being selected.

A PEC committee, including Tom Schneider’s wife, Becky Schwarz, will select the Peacemaker(s) in April, with a minimum award of $500.

Submit your application or nomination, along with two letters of reference, no later than April 1, 2023, to Peace Education Center, 1120 S. Harrison, East Lansing, MI 48823 or email to:

2023 Tom Schneider Award Application